(Video in Cantonese only)
Beware of Con Men Posing as ICAC Officers

The Hong Kong Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) warned the public that some overseas Chinese had received calls or messages from persons posing as officers of the ICAC or other law enforcement agencies. With fraudulent ICAC website and falsified documents from law enforcement agencies, the imposters claimed that the victims were involved in corruption, deception or money laundering cases and demanded them to pay "deposit" for the investigation.

Victims were asked to remit the "deposit" to a bank account and promised a refund later. If the victims failed to comply, their bank accounts would be frozen.

In reality, the money would be withdrawn immediately after remittance and the swindlers then disappeared into thin air.

The ICAC reminded the public that the Commission would never require any citizen to pay deposit or money for investigation and other purposes. The ICAC would not ask anybody to remit or transfer or send money to ICAC bank account or any other bank accounts.

If you encounter similar situation or have any queries, please call the ICAC 24-hour Report Hotline (852) 25 266 366.

“Our acquaintance is definitely not a coincidence.”

“Your presence has brought me joy and hope.”

“Are you working very hard today? Take care of yourself or I will be sad if you get sick!”

I am Walter, Chief Investigator of the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) in Hong Kong. In recent years, the ICAC received telephone enquiries from abroad or the mainland China on whether we had arrested the callers’ friends or relatives. Hence, quite a number of syndicated deception cases involving the impersonation of ICAC officers were revealed.

In one of those cases under my investigation, I still have reminiscences on the tearful expression of the victim when she recalled memoirs of the ‘sweet moments’……

“I am Amy, Chinese, residing in Australia, 40+. After breaking up with my boyfriend more than 10 years ago, I have all along been on my own. Seeing my female friends getting married and having children, of course I was anxious. I wanted to find a partner. Once learning it was very easy to strike up a friendship online, I started browsing dating websites.

Getting to know Endy as I once thought was a gift from God. Initially we were only chatting. He was a native of Shanxi, Investment Manager of a Chinese bank in Hong Kong. Since he was busy at work, he had no time to make friends of the opposite gender. Later when we realized that we both loved travelling, we just could not stop sharing with each other on our travelling experiences. Very often, he sent me photographs of his trips and everyday life, and some even of his business and identity cards of his bank. He too was kidding to ask me whether he looked handsome in the pictures or not. Like being under a spell, I did not even want to go out during holidays. Whenever I had time I would log in to the website for a chat with Endy. We even exchanged our telephone numbers afterwards, so that we could send messages to each other during day time.

On the evening of my birthday eve, Endy sent a message to me saying my presence had brought him unspeakable joy and hope. After returning a ‘smiling face’ emoji to him, he immediately indicated his wish to have me as his girlfriend. That indeed was my best birthday present!

He said he wanted to have a family and hoped that our further conversations would focus on our marriage. Then we began to call each other ‘dear’, ‘darling’ and so on. Furthermore, I treasured the photographs he sent to me and saved them in my cell phone. He was very much concerned of my wellbeing and asked how things were with me every day. But how would I imagine those heartwarming words were in fact baits for his prey?

After knowing Endy for 2 months, he said his department would be responsible for a mainland investment project called ‘Combat Underground Mark Six Activities’. Due to the low entry barriers, little risks and handsome profits, he asked me to join the project ‘to win some dowry’! For my trust in Endy, I promised to invest and deposited ¥20,000 into a mainland bank account as instructed.

In the next few weeks, we were chatting online as usual. A week later, Endy said the ‘Combat Underground Mark Six Activities’ project had brought about a return of ¥3,000,000. However, according to the financial provisions in the mainland China, I had to first pay a 2% tax before getting the money. Then based on the image of the tax return Endy sent to me, I remitted ¥6,000 into another mainland bank account for the tax payment.

In the next few days, I was still dreaming about how to make use of the money to create a memorable wedding. Then one day an unexpected phone call from a Mr. CHAN of a Hong Kong financial regulator telling me that as I was not a Hong Kong or Macao resident, therefore, as stipulated under the law, I could not take the money which was temporarily held by the financial regulator, and that I was further required to make a guarantee deposit of ¥100,000 for having been suspected of tax evasion and money laundry. But in any sense, how would I have so much money? Being desperate, I called Endy at once. He told me to transfer ¥20,000 first and then he would pay the remaining ¥80,000 for me.

I considered Mr. CHAN’s words slightly untrustworthy. Neither was I familiar with the financial matters in Hong Kong, so I could only ask John, another friend from Hong Kong I came to know in the online dating site for advice. John was a senior executive of a bank in Hong Kong and he had many friends working in the banking industry. It was confirmed after inquiry that as indicated from the regulator’s records, an investment return of ¥3,000,000 was really being held up, and that it was also the government regulation to levy tax and guarantee deposit. As it was seen to be true, then what options were left for me? I could only transfer ¥20,000 into the mainland bank account.

Since then there was no way I could make contact with Endy. My messages were not replied. He was not seen logging in to the dating website either. So what had happened to him? Was there an accident? Or he was simply too busy at work?

Then I received Mr. CHAN’s phone call again. He said since Endy was arrested by the ICAC for having made a deposit of ¥80,000 for me, which was against the company practice. I was told to prepare ¥80,000 immediately, and that if only I could take out the same amount, then it was possible to prove Endy’s innocence and he would be discharged by the ICAC very soon. After hanging up, I called Endy right away; but again, it was only connected to his voice mail box.

I was so afraid that Endy would go to jail, worrying that Endy would ruin his career because of me. So I made the decision to fly to Hong Kong to understand the matter. Before leaving, Mr. CHAN called me again to urge me for the payment of ¥80,000; nevertheless I had no mood to entertain him.

I kept trying to get in touch with Endy. I even wanted to go to his office to take a look. Till noon time of the following day, the line was eventually connected to Endy’s mobile phone.

ICAC Investigator’s Diary (1) – Online Dating Site Swindlers

“Hello, I would like to speak to Endy!”

“I am an officer of the ICAC. Endy is now being interviewed. So his cell phone is confiscated in the meantime!”

“How is Endy? He is innocent!”

“It’s not convenient to talk about it at the moment. Can you make a trip to the ICAC headquarters?” Having said that, it was hung up.

I did not know the address of the ICAC headquarters. Then I immediately looked it up online and found its telephone hotline. I made a call in an attempt to confirm the case. Yet unexpectedly……

It was revealed that Endy, Mr. CHAN and even John were all…swindlers!

I could not believe I was deceived. I wished the ICAC Officer had got it all wrong. Then I called Endy and Mr. CHAN one more time but the lines could not be connected….”

This is a typical defrauding tricks. Syndicated swindlers pick their targets from the photographs of the online dating sites. After seizing their features as being single and desperate to look for love and care, they develop a relationship with them and promote to them different ‘investment projects’ such as those relating to Mark Six speculations, real estate developments etc. Since the victims have trust in the cheating crooks, they are always willing to take out the money.

When the ‘investment projects’ are nearing completion and the swindlers knew their plans would soon be cracked, then they would lie to the victims that they had been detained by law enforcement officers with an intent to further defraud the victims of paying the bail money.

Please remember the ICAC in Hong Kong will not contact friends and relatives of detainees on their behalves. Furthermore, the Commission will not require them to pay bail money by remittance, account transfer or some other means. Arrangements should be made by detainees through lawyers or in person.

As stipulated in the Hong Kong ICAC Ordinance, the impersonation of an ICAC Officer or false representation of the possession of powers of an ICAC Officers is against the law and liable to a fine of $20,000 and imprisonment for one year upon conviction.

If you encounter someone calling himself /herself an ICAC Officer of Hong Kong and have doubts on his/her identity, please call the Hong Kong ICAC report hotline 852 25 266 366 for enquiry.

“Once I did not cherish a precious relationship, then I regretted with remorse when it was gone.”

“This time I don’t want to be sorry again! Your presence is another opportunity God has bestowed on me!”

“If my love for you has a time limit, I wish it would be 10,000 years!”

I am Walter, Chief Investigator of the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) in Hong Kong. In recent years, the ICAC received quite a number of syndicated deception cases involving the impersonation of ICAC Officers. Most of the victims called the Commission to enquire whether we had arrested their friends or relatives and the scams henceforth came to light.

In one of the cases under my investigation, I still recall the tearful expression of the victim when she fixed her eyes on the intimate text messages……

“My name is Yoyo, I’m from Tainan, 50+. Four years ago after divorcing my husband I have all along been staying on my own and relying on government subventions and my ex’s severance pay to support my living. My son has graduated from university and moved to the city for work, and it has greatly eased my burden. But at the same time my life has become less and less occupied. Each day, I faced the empty house by myself and the helplessness made me difficult to breath. I would very much like to have someone to talk to.

As my son observed I was always in a blue mood, he gave me the latest model of a smartphone as a gift. He hoped I would get online to spend my spare time and keep abreast with the time. He also installed the instant messaging application to help me keep in touch with people at any moment. In the following two weeks, after experimenting the unaccustomed operations and making countless mistakes, I eventually succeeded in writing instant messages, inserting emojis and even using facemood expressions. I was happy with my improvements!

Getting to know Arthur was a coincidence. On that day, I was trying out the ‘Shake Out’ in-app function. It was unexpected that I received his friend request. Initially, I was being cautious and our conversations did not go non-stop. He said he was an officer of a department of the Hong Kong Government, and that because of his straightforward personality, it was difficult for him to have crush on females and so he still remained single at the age of 55.

I learned during conversations that Arthur came from a single parent family and had been living with his mother since childhood. As I was also a single mother, I got on well talking to him and had pity on his upbringing. I later realized that we both enjoyed watching movies and were especially familiar with the dialogues of the classic Hong Kong films. From time to time, he sent me photographs of his everyday life and those of his mother, including one with her identity card. He was kidding to ask me whether he looked like a movie star or not! Since I was unemployed, every day I wished time could go fast so that I could talk to him after he had finished off work. I fancied perhaps Arthur was thinking of me too. Before going for work, during lunch time and in the middle of the meetings, Arthur would send me lovely heartrending emojis which delighted me most.

Though we had never met, we soon developed a relationship. He said he was getting old and saw me someone to get married with. He did not mind me being a divorced woman and would be pleased to take my son as his own. Since he had invested in Taiwan properties, he could settle down here after we became man and wife. Oh…who wouldn’t look forward to living such a happy life?

More than a month later, Arthur asked me one day whether I was willing to help him if he was in trouble. I told him I would be most happy to offer help if I could! It was known that he had made profits in a real estate project but before realizing the profits, he had to pay US$30,000 for tax. However, since he had put all his money in his investment, he was unable to cope with the transaction instantly. Then he hoped I could help him. Since Arthur was a civil servant, he was unable to collect the loan from me direct. As a result, I followed his instructions to remit the money to the account of Brother Bo, a friend of his working for a Hong Kong financial regulator.

Roughly a week later, Arthur used the same reason to ask me for US$40,000 to pay tax again. In fact, I had used up my savings on the previous occasion and there was no more money to help him with. However, I could not bear Arthur’s verbal disappointment and was made to give him my word. After pooling the amount from friends, I paid it into Brother Bo’s bank account again. In any sense, I trusted Arthur well and strongly believed his enthusiasm in investment was all for our future.

A few days later, I received the phone call from a bank staff mentioning that my remittance had been frozen by the receiving bank. I was suspected of having been involved in money laundry activities! In panic and anxiety, I sent messages to Arthur but he never replied. Oh…what had happened to him?

In the next three days I was feeling unrest and agitated. Then I received Brother Bo’s phone call telling me Arthur was suspected of having taken part in money laundry activities and was kept in the Detention Centre of the Hong Kong ICAC after arrest. Brother Bo said Arthur was his good friend and he would try his best to help him. He further asked, “If Arthur is in jail, then how can he marry you?” Having heard that, I felt so bad that I wanted to cry; nevertheless, there was nothing I could do.

On the next day, Brother Bo called again and said he had some ‘good news’!

“Arthur is still being investigated by the Hong Kong ICAC and should not be discharged for the time being! Fortunately, I am acquainted with a unit head attached to the Detention Centre. Only if some ‘advantage’ is given to him, he should be able to say some nice words for Arthur, help shorten the length of sentence and even get him out right away!”

“Really? Then how much money is needed?”

“The unit head was asking for HK$15,000!”

“Mm….Brother Bo…..…can I think about it?”

“Don’t hesitate. The longer the money is paid, the longer it will take for Arthur to have freedom again!”

“Alright…give me a few days….let me have a word with my family!”

I immediately discussed the matter with my son and hoped he could lend me money to offer the ‘advantage’. After hearing the whole story, my son was assertive to say that I had been deceived. He told me not to give any more money to Brother Bo and should report the case to the Police at once! I was in tears to ask if it was true, then what would happen to Arthur. Being pressed by my persistent request, my son suggested not to transfer the money but asked his friend in Hong Kong to give the money to Brother Bo by hand. I called Brother Bo at once who said there was no problem with the arrangement and asked his Hong Kong friend to make an appointment with him direct. However, when Arthur’s friend in Hong Kong phoned Brother Bo, he told him he had been away from Hong Kong for an official overseas trip for a few days. Brother Bo has tried every means to convince Arthur’s friend to transfer the money; but of course, the request was turned down.

After all these, the telephone line of Brother Bo was disconnected, my messages not replied by Arthur and his telephone number no more in use.

I was still slightly worrying and a bit upset. Then I called the ICAC in Hong Kong to ask whether they were actually investigating Arthur and whether Arthur was really detained. Yet, the answer was as my son had expected……

Arthur and Brother Bo were associates to rip off my money!

Now what then? Another married life I fantasized had vanished, and what’s left was the money I owed my friends and family…”

In this smartphone era, getting in touch with friends from abroad through instant messaging is no more a dream. Yet swindlers seize the convenience brought about by the technology to make use of social networking applications to hunt for overseas targets from their photographs. Subsequently, typical defrauding tricks will be employed. Through the sharing of feelings, the victims take off their guards. After winning their sympathy and compassion, the relationship will be easily developed! Furthermore, they make excuses like investing in property development projects and making tax payments, etc. to deceive money. Since the victims believe the swindlers, they are always willing to take out the money or even everything they possess.

When the scam reaches the final stage, i.e. when swindlers know the victims have begun to suspect, they would then lie to them that they have been arrested by the law enforcement officers, with intent to further defraud the victims of paying bail money or even offering bribes to the law enforcers.

Please remember the ICAC in Hong Kong will not contact friends and relatives of detainees on their behalves. Furthermore, the Commission will not require them to pay bail money by remittance, account transfer or some other means. Detainees may only make the arrangements through lawyers or in person. At the same time, pursuant to the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance of Hong Kong, any person offering an advantage to a public officer for his/her performing or abstaining from performing his/her duty is an offence under the law.

If you encounter someone calling himself/herself an ICAC Officer of Hong Kong and have doubts on his/her identity, please call the Hong Kong ICAC report hotline 852 25 266 366 for enquiry.

If you suspect yourself of being deceived, you should report the matter immediately to your local government organizations and stop making any payment at once.

As stipulated in the Hong Kong ICAC Ordinance, the impersonation of an ICAC Officer or false representation of the possession of powers of an ICAC Officers is against the law and liable to the fine of $20,000 and imprisonment for one year upon conviction.

香港廉政公署接獲投訴,有騙徒曾冒認廉署人員行騙,受害人包括海外華僑及香港居民。如果有人聲稱你有以下情況,必須提高警覺:

你涉嫌犯法(如貪污,詐騙及/或洗黑錢等),要向廉政公署提供保證金協助調查
你買的彩票贏了豐富彩金,但要繳交費用才能取得彩金
你的投資獲得豐厚的回報,但要繳交費用才能贖回資金
提防騙徒冒充廉署人員

騙徒犯案的手法包括:

無論什麼藉口,騙徒提取匯款後便逃之夭夭,失去影蹤!

廉署絕不要求「調查費」、任何匯款或銀行轉賬以作調查用途
遇到類似情況或有任何懷疑,立即致電廉政公署24小時舉報貪污熱線(852)25 266 366

「我們的認識,絕對不是偶然。」

「你的出現,令我產生了莫名的喜悅和希望。」

「今天工作辛苦嗎?別累壞了身子,我會心痛的!」

我是Walter,是香港廉政公署的總調查主任。近年,我們接到一些海外或國內人士來電,查詢廉署是否曾拘捕他們的親友。經調查後,發現不少是集團式冒充廉署人員的騙案。

其中一宗案件由我負責。我仍記得受害人回憶那些「甜蜜片段」時,差點哭起來的表情……

廉署調查員手記(1) - 愛情網站的騙子

「我是Amy,是住在澳大利亞的華僑,40多歲,十年前跟男友分手後便一直單身。眼見女友們都結婚生子了,自己當然著急,希望找個伴侶。聽說在網絡上很容易結交到新朋友,於是開始逛交友網站了。

認識Endy,我以為是上天的禮物。最初大家只是閒話家常,他是山西人,是內地銀行駐香港分行的投資部經理,因為工作繁重以致沒機會結識異性。後來發現大家都喜歡旅遊,話匣子一打開便收不回來。他不時傳些旅遊和生活照給我看,甚至連工作單位的名片和證件都有,還笑問我他的證件照片拍得帥不帥!那時像中了毒一樣,假期都不想外出,一有餘暇便登入網站去跟Endy聊天。後來更互相交換電話號碼,這樣子白天都可以互傳短訊了。

就在我生日前一晚,我看到Endy留言,說我的出現,讓他充滿喜悅和希望。我回覆一個「笑臉」表情後,他隨即跟我表白,希望我當他的女友。這簡直是最好的生日禮物呀!

他說他想成家立室,希望以結婚為前提展開交往。我們開始以『老公老婆』、『寶貝』來稱呼對方,他傳給我的那些照片更珍藏在我的手機裡。他對我非常關顧,每天都噓寒問暖。我怎知道那些窩心的說話,其實只是引誘獵物上鉤的技倆?

交往了兩個月後,Endy說他的部門,將負責一個「打擊地下六合彩活動」的內地投資項目。因為門檻不高、風險低、利潤可觀,於是希望我也參加,『賺些零錢當嫁妝也好』!因為信任Endy,於是便答應投資,將¥20,000 匯到他指示的內地銀行帳戶裡。

之後的幾個星期,我倆如常的在網上聊天。一星期後,Endy說那「六合彩投資」已獲得¥3,000,000回報。但礙於中國內地的財務法規,我要先繳交2%稅款才能拿錢。我根據Endy傳給我的稅單圖片,將¥60,000匯到另一個內地銀行帳戶去繳交稅項。

隨後幾天,我還沉醉在怎樣運用那筆錢,去打造一個難忘的婚禮。誰知收到自稱在香港金融監管機構工作的小陳來電,說由於我不是港澳居民,根據法例不能提款,故那筆投資回報暫時得由監管機構保管;他更說懷疑我參與逃稅和洗黑錢活動,需要繳交¥100,000保證金。我哪有這麼多現金呢?我心急如焚,馬上致電Endy商量。他著我先過戶¥20,000,餘下的¥80,000他願意代我繳交。

我有點不信小陳的說法,又對香港的金融情況不大熟悉,於是只好硬著頭皮,請教另一位在交友網站認識的香港朋友John。他是香港某銀行高層來的,認識不少業界朋友。經過他調查後,證實在監管機構紀錄上,確實有¥3,000,000投資回報被扣起,繳交稅款和保證金亦是官方措施。既然證實無訛,我還有什麼選擇?只好將¥20,000轉帳到內地銀行帳戶去。

那天之後,我就聯絡不到Endy。短訊沒有回覆,交友網站內也不見他上線,他是怎麼了?是出意外嗎?還是純粹工作太忙?

接著是小陳的來電,他說Endy因為幫我支付了¥80,000的保證金,違反公司規矩,被廉政公署抓了!他著我馬上準備¥80,000,只要付得出相同金額,就能證明Endy是清白的,他也就很快會被廉署釋放。掛斷電話後,我再致電Endy,還是一樣轉駁到留言信箱的聲音。

我很怕Endy要坐牢,亦擔心Endy因為我的緣故而斷送前途。於是我做了一個決定,就是馬上飛到香港了解一下。甫到步就收到小陳的來電,依然繼續催促我支付¥80,000,我哪還有心情理會他呢?

我繼續嘗試聯絡Endy,甚至想到他的辦公室去看看。直到翌日中午,Endy的手機終於有人接聽。

廉署調查員手記(1) - 愛情網站的騙子

『你好,我想找Endy!』

『我是廉政公署人員。Endy正被廉署問話,所以他的手機暫時被沒收了!』

『Endy怎樣呀?他是清白的!』

『現在不方便說話。你能親身到廉署總部一趟?』說完便掛斷了。

我不知道廉署總部的地址在哪裡。於是我便上網搜尋,找到他們的熱線電話,再致電去確認一下。誰知……

他們著我別再付錢給任何人,因為我可能已墮入騙局。

原來,Endy、小陳、甚至連John都是……騙子!

與其相信自己被騙,我寧願希望那位廉署職員是搞錯了。於是我再致電給Endy和小陳,手機卻只傳來空洞的鈴聲……」

這是很典型的行騙手法。集團式經營的騙徒在交友網站內相中獵物,然後看準他們單身且渴望得到關愛的特點,成為「男女朋友」後便開始用不同的「投資項目」作幌子,例如六合彩投資、房地產發展項目等。受害人因為信任騙徒的關係,往往願意付出金錢。

當「投資項目」發展到尾聲,騙徒知道計劃很快會被揭破後,便會訛稱自己被執法人員拘押,意圖再欺詐受害人繳付保釋金。

請緊記,香港廉政公署不會代表被拘押人士接觸其親友,更不會要求他們透過匯款或轉帳等形式,去支付保釋金,被拘留人士可透過律師,或親自作出安排。

香港《廉政公署條例》訂明,冒充廉政公署人員或偽稱具有廉政公署人員的權力的人士,即屬違法,一經定罪,可處罰款 $20,000及監禁 1年。

如果遇到有人自稱香港廉署人員,而你對其身分有懷疑,請立即致電香港廉政公署舉報熱線852 25 266 366查詢。

「曾經有份真摯的感情在我面前我沒有珍惜,等到失去了才後悔莫及。」

「這次我不想再令自己後悔了!你的出現,就是上天給我再來一次的機會!」

「如果必要在我對你的愛上面加一個期限的話,我希望是,一萬年!」

我是Walter,是香港廉政公署的總調查主任。近年,廉署接手調查多宗集團式冒充廉署人員的騙案;大多數都是由受害人致電廉署,查詢我們是否曾拘捕他們的親友而揭發的。

其中一宗案件由我負責。我仍記得受害人望著那些「甜蜜短訊」時,那個欲哭無淚的表情……

廉署調查員手記(2) - 婚姻欺詐師

「我叫小瑜,來自台南,今年50多歲。四年前跟丈夫離婚後便一直單身,靠政府的福利金和前夫的贍養費生活。眼見兒子大學畢業,搬到城市去工作,我的擔子的確減輕了,但生活好像沒以前那麼充實。每天都孤伶伶的面對家裡四道牆,那份無力感令人窒息。我也很想找個伴侶,跟自己聊聊天也好。

兒子見我悶悶不樂,便送我一部最新款的智能電話,他希望我上網打發時間,與時並進。他還為我安裝了實時通訊軟件,說這樣子就可以隨時保持聯絡了。接著的兩個星期,我就左試試、右弄弄的,由完全不懂操作,到最後學會寫訊息、傳表情符號甚至用顏文字表情,簡直就是進步神速!

認識阿華實在是個巧合。那天我正研究手機中的一個「搖一搖」應用程式功能,豈料就收到他的邀請,問我願不願意跟他交朋友。最初我滿有戒心,一句沒一句的聊著。他說他在香港政府某部門任職主任,由於性格比較憨直,很難取悅女性,故此到55歲仍然未婚。

交談之下,知道阿華也是來自單親家庭,自小與母親相依為命。由於我也是個單身媽媽,所以跟他談得特別投契,對他的遭遇也很有共鳴。後來又發現,我們都是電影迷,對經典港產電影的對白更是背誦如流。他不時傳些生活照和他媽媽的照片給我看,甚至連身分證都有,笑問我他長得像不像明星!沒有工作的我,每天都恨不得時間過得快一點,好等他下班後好好跟自己聊天。我想阿華也有點掛念我吧?上班前、午飯時間和開會途中,他總會傳些可愛的動態表情給我,逗得我很高興。

雖然我們不曾見面,但很快我們便發展成男女朋友的關係。他說自己年紀老大不小了,所以視我為結婚對象;他不介意我曾離婚,亦願意將我的兒子視為己出。由於他在台灣有房地產投資,故此婚後他可以搬到台灣定居。這樣美滿的生活,試問哪個不憧憬呢?

一個多月後,有天阿華問我如果他有麻煩,我願不願意幫他解決。我馬上說,只要是能力範圍內做到的,我都願意!原來他剛在一個房地產項目中獲利,可是在套現前,得先繳交一筆$30,000美元的稅款。然而他所有資金都押在投資上,一時周轉不來,希望我可以替他解困。由於阿華是公務員,不能直接收取我的借款,故此我便依照指示,改為匯錢到寶哥 — 他一位在香港金融監管機構內工作的朋友之銀行帳戶內。

大約一星期後,阿華再用同樣原因向我借款$40,000美元來交稅。其實上次我已經用盡積蓄了,沒有錢再幫忙。但我受不了阿華語氣中的失望,我唯有硬著頭皮答應。東拼西湊的問朋友借足款項,我便再次將錢打到寶哥的銀行戶口去。反正我很信任阿華,亦深信他如此熱衷於投資,是在籌措我們的將來。

幾天之後,我卻收到一位自稱銀行職員的電話,說我的匯款被對方銀行凍結了,原因是懷疑我們與洗黑錢活動有關!我怕得要命,但怎樣傳訊息給阿華,他也沒有回覆。他是怎麼了?

坐立不安了整整三天,我才接到寶哥的電話,告訴我阿華因為被懷疑參與洗黑錢活動,被香港廉政公署拘捕了,正被扣押於廉署總部的拘留室裡。寶哥說阿華是他的好朋友,他會盡力幫忙的,還說「阿華如果入獄了,怎樣跟你結婚呢?」聽到這說話,我難過得想哭,卻又什麼都幫不上忙。

翌日,寶哥再次來電,說他有「好消息」!

『阿華仍被香港廉署調查中,短期之內應該不會被釋放!……幸好,我認識一位駐守他們收押所的小主管,只要給他一些「好處」,他就可以代阿華美言幾句,幫忙爭取較短刑期,甚至即時釋放!』

『真的嗎?那要多少錢?』

『小主管索價港幣$15,000!』

『嗯……寶哥……我……我可以想想嗎?』

『大嫂,別再猶豫了,遲付一天錢,阿華就少一天自由嘛!』

『好……你給我幾天時間,讓我跟家人商量吧!』

我馬上跟兒子商量,並希望他可以借錢給我去付「好處費」。兒子聽完來龍去脈後,斷言我是被騙了,著我不要再付錢給寶哥,更應該馬上去報警!我哭著說,萬一,若果萬一是真的,阿華怎麼辦?兒子抵不住我的哀求,於是提議這次不要再將錢過戶,改為請他的香港朋友幫忙親手交錢給寶哥。我馬上致電給寶哥,他說沒問題,叫那位香港朋友直接跟他約時間就好。可是,當那位香港朋友致電給寶哥時,他卻說因公事要急著離港數天,然後極力說服朋友將錢過戶就好,朋友當然拒絕。

然後,寶哥的電話就再打不通了。阿華亦再沒有回覆我的訊息,他的電話號碼亦被停止使用了。

我還是有點擔心,亦有點不服氣。於是致電去給香港廉政公署,查詢一下他們是否正在調查阿華,阿華亦是否正被收押中。答案就如兒子所料……

阿華、寶哥都是一黨的,目的就是要騙我的錢!

現在怎麼辦?我一直憧憬著的再婚生活沒有了,只剩餘欠家人朋友的債務……」

在這個智能手機不離手的年代,跟外地朋友實時通訊再不是夢;騙徒就是看準科技帶來的便利,利用「搖一搖」應用程式尋找朋友的功能,去相中外地的獵物。然後再用典型的行騙手法,透過分享感受來令受害人卸下心防,獲得同情和共鳴後就更容易使關係邁進一步!再利用不同理由作幌子,例如房地產發展項目、繳交稅款等去斂財。由於受害人信任騙徒,往往願意付出金錢,甚至傾家蕩產也在所不惜。

當騙局發展到尾聲,騙徒知道受害人開始有懷疑後,便會訛稱被執法人員拘押,意圖再欺詐受害人繳付保釋金,甚至用作行賄執法人員的賄款。

請緊記,香港廉政公署不會代表被拘押人士接觸其親友,更不會要求他們透過匯款或轉帳等形式,去支付保釋金,被拘留人士可透過律師,或親自作出安排。同時,根據香港《防止賄賂條例》,任何人向公職人員提供利益,藉以影響其執行或不執行職務,即屬違法。

如果遇到有人自稱香港廉署人員,而你對其身分有懷疑,請立即致電香港廉政公署舉報熱線852 25 266 366查詢。

若懷疑受騙,應立即向當地政府機關舉報,並馬上停止支付任何款項。

香港《廉政公署條例》訂明,冒充廉政公署人員或偽稱具有廉政公署人員的權力的人士,即屬違法,一經定罪,可處罰款$20,000及監禁 1 年。